The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Tennessee, Health Science Center
  Jan 18, 2018
2016-2017 Academic Catalog (Jan 2017) [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

2016-2017 Academic Catalog (Jan 2017)

General Information

History and Overview
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) was established in Memphis in 1911, dedicated solely to health science education and research. Seed programs in medicine, dentistry and pharmacy - with their origins in the late 1800s - quickly flourished, and within a few short years, new programs were initiated in allied health sciences, graduate health sciences, and nursing. Each of these programs grew to become a college in its own right. In 1963, the UT Graduate School of Medicine in Knoxville became part of the UTHSC, and in 1974, the UT College of Medicine, Chattanooga, likewise joined the institution.

There are approximately 2,800 students enrolled in one of 34 health-related degree programs or one of two graduate certificate programs  and approximately 1200 residents and fellows receive training (most of whom are in one of 85 programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) through the Graduate Medical Education Program. 

The clinical practices affiliated with the UTHSC account for more than $200 million in revenue for the institution. This revenue, coupled with more than $100 million from the research enterprise, significantly contributes to achieving the mission of the UTHSC to “bring the benefits of the health sciences to the achievement and maintenance of human health, with a focus on the citizens of Tennessee and the region…”

The UTHSC is comprised of the following six colleges:  

Online Instruction
The UTHSC offers the following five degree programs and three graduate certificates through online instruction:

Degree Programs: 

Graduate Certificates:​  

The University of Tennessee Mission Statement

The mission of The University of Tennessee is to provide the people of Tennessee with access to quality higher education, economic development and enhanced quality-of-life opportunities.

UT Health Science Center Mission Statement

The mission of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center is to bring the benefits of the health sciences to the achievement and maintenance of human health, with a focus on the citizens of Tennessee and the region, by pursuing an integrated program of education, research, clinical care, and public service.

Location and Facilities

The main campus of the UTHSC is located in Memphis, with additional locations in Knoxville, Chattanooga, Nashville, and on the campus of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (also located in Memphis). In addition, the UTHSC has formal affiliations with teaching hospitals and clinical facilities across the state to facilitate the clinical education of future health professionals. The UT Health Science Center administrative offices are located on the Memphis Campus, Hyman Building, at 62 South Dunlap, Memphis, TN. The administrative offices for each of the six colleges are also located on the Memphis Campus. For more detailed information regarding UTHSC facilities, refer to CenterScope.