Dec 05, 2023  
2018-2019 Academic Bulletin (Catalog) (Jan 2019 Ed) 
2018-2019 Academic Bulletin (Catalog) (Jan 2019 Ed) [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Alpha Omega Alpha Lectureship: The local chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha sponsors a visiting lectureship during the spring of each year.

James H. Horner Distinguished Visiting Professorship: James H. Horner was a medical student who died shortly before his medical school graduation in 1983. Dr. Horner’s family established this distinguished Professorship “to promote education, compassion, and academic excellence in the practice of medicine.” This Professorship is held in conjunction with the annual alumni weekend.

Henry B. Brackin Lectureship: This lectureship, sponsored by an anonymous donation honoring Dr. Brackin, makes possible an annual lectureship in some area of psychiatry.

Eleanor and James N. Etteldorf Lectureship: This annual lectureship in pediatrics, established by Dr. James N. Etteldorf, includes symposiums composed of visiting and resident faculty.

T.S. Hill Lectureship: This lectureship in psychiatry was established to honor Dr. T.S. Hill, Professor Emeritus and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry from 1941 to 1963.

McDonald Lectureship: This lectureship was established for invited faculty to participate in lectures and rounds  with students and residents and other members of the Section of Hematology in the Department of Medicine.

Israel David Michelson Visiting Professorship: This lectureship in pathology is funded through an endowment established by friends and colleagues of Dr. Michelson.

R.R. Overman Lectureship: This lectureship is funded through an endowment created from the gifts of former students and colleagues of Dr. Richard R. Overman and provides an annual lectureship.

Quarterly Visiting Professorship in the Department of Pediatrics: Various guest faculty lectures in the Department of Pediatrics are presented quarterly and funded by an anonymous source.

Irving Shelton Lectureship: Lectureships in psychiatry were established through a contribution of Mr. Irving Shelton, the publisher of Disease of the Nervous System (now the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry).

Karl L. Smiley, Jr. Lectureship: The purpose of this lectureship is to provide a participatory lectureship for graduate student education and enrichment reflecting current interests in the field of microbiology.

Phineas J. Sparer Distinguished Visiting Professorship: Established by a gift from Mrs. Florence Sparer in memory of her husband, the visiting Professorship rotates annually between the Departments of Psychiatry and Preventive Medicine.

Therapeutics Lectureship: This lectureship is to provide lectures in clinical pharmacology.

Charles C. and Mary Elizabeth Lovely Verstandig Distinguished Visiting Professorship: This endowment provides for an annual distinguished visiting Professorship in various areas of academic interest.

Harwell Wilson Distinguished Visiting Professorship and The Harwell Wilson Visiting Lecture in Surgery: An endowment created by the friends of Dr. Harwell Wilson provides a distinguished visiting Professorship and an annual lectureship in surgery.

Edwin H. Beachey Distinguished Visiting Professorship: Dr. Ed Beachey, a former University of Tennessee professor, chief of Infectious Disease and associate chief of staff for research at the Memphis VA Medical Center has been honored in this annual lectureship since 1991. Dr. Beachey’s life’s work was dedicated to pathogenesis of Streptococcal disease and developing a vaccine for Group A Streptococcus.

Neuton Stern Visiting Professorship: Dr. Neuton Stern brought the first ECG to the South when he returned from Harvard to practice in Memphis. He was a founding member of the American Heart Association and the first diplomat of the National Board of Medical Examiners in Tennessee.